Frequently Asked Questions

First timer to an improv show? A little wary of the funny? Want to impress your friends with your vast knowledge of all things improv and Theatre99? Use these Cliffs Notes and impress your pals!

What is improv? Is it like stand up?

Improv comedy is hilarious unscripted theatre. If you've ever seen the TV show "Whose Line is it Anyway?" you've seen improv. It is not stand up comedy...improvisers don't tell jokes. They take audience suggestions and create comedic scenes based on those suggestions. Because of that, every show is different.

Will they make fun of me or make me get on stage?

Nope, unless you volunteer yourself we will let you sit there with the anonymity and safety of someone in the witness protection program. The only exception is if you walk in late or forget to turn off your cell phone. Do that and you shall be taunted mercilessly as an example to the rest of the class.

How long do the shows last?

8:00 p.m. shows are typically 1 3/4 hours in length and 10:00 p.m. shows are one hour in length.

How much do shows cost?

When we say cheap laughs, we mean cheap! Prices for each show can be found on the appropriate pages, but generally Wednesday night shows are $5, Friday night shows are $10, and Saturday ranges from $10 - $12.50 Festival shows range from $10-15.

Where is Theatre 99 anyway? Where the heck do I park?

Click on our LOCATION page. There are tons of free parking spaces after 6pm behind the Gaillard Auditorium on George Street between Anson and East Bay Streets. There is a paid lot on George Street between Meeting and King Streets.

Do you take credit cards?

Nah, cash only. We like to keep it clean. You can purchase tickets with a credit card here on the website.

Where's is the closest ATM?

In our lobby...how convenient is that?

Can we eat and drink in the theatre?

Hell yes. We pride ourselves on being the only live theatre in Charleston with a cup holder at every seat! And lucky for you we offer beer, wine and snacks at our bar, available before and after each show, and during intermission. Cash only, so load up on those $1s and $5s.

Do we need to make reservations?

It is an excellent idea as shows often sell out. Simply call 853-NOTS and leave your reservation info on the machine or order in advance using ETIX. Show up a half hour before the show to ensure you can sit with your friends. If you don't show by 15 minutes before show time we'll sell your seat to people in line. (ETIX reservations are guaranteed, but seating is still general.)

Are the shows family-friendly?

We're family. And we're friendly. But we're not family friendly.

If I laugh my ass off will you help me find it?

You betcha!

Are seats reserved?

No. Seating is general admission (like going to the movies). Even if you purchase tickets in advance, seating is still general admission. It is strongly recommended that you arrive 30 minutes before showtime to ensure that you can get seats together.

I've got another question. How can I get an answer?

No problem at all. Just email us at thehavenots2000@aol.com and we'll get back to you asap.

Have other questions? Call or email us!

Upcoming Shows

Wed, Mar 29 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Thu, Mar 30 - 7:30 pm

Blast Off (FREE show)

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Mar 31 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Mar 31 - 10:00 pm

Blast Off (FREE show)

Get Tickets >>

Sat, Apr 1 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, Apr 5 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Thu, Apr 6 - 7:30 pm

Blast Off (FREE show)

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Apr 7 - 8:00 pm

The Funny Bucket

Get Tickets >>

Sat, Apr 8 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, Apr 12 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Apr 14 - 8:00 pm

Improv Smackdown!

Get Tickets >>

Sat, Apr 15 - 8:00 pm

The Have Nots! Comedy Improv Company

Get Tickets >>

Wed, Apr 19 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Thu, Apr 20 - 7:30 pm

Blast Off (FREE show)

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Apr 21 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Sat, Apr 22 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, Apr 26 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Fri, Apr 28 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Sat, Apr 29 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, May 3 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Fri, May 5 - 8:00 pm

The Funny Bucket

Get Tickets >>

Sat, May 6 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, May 10 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Fri, May 12 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Sat, May 13 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, May 17 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>

Fri, May 19 - 8:00 pm

Improv Smackdown!

Get Tickets >>

Sat, May 20 - 8:00 pm

Improv Riot

Get Tickets >>

Wed, May 24 - 8:00 pm

Laugh For A Lincoln

Get Tickets >>