MRSOE! Competition
MRSOE! presents Race to the Stage Comedy Competition

24 Comedians entered the MRSOE! RACE to the Stage contest and only 6 remain…After 2 grueling weeks of voting, the results are in, and the top 6 comedians have been chosen! Theatre 99 and MRSOE! are proud to present the "RACE to the Stage Finals" on Friday, May 16, 2014 at 10:00pm.  Tickets are available NOW!

Each comedian will be given 7 minutes to perform their best material and will judged on the following criteria:

1) Material

2) Style

3) Audience reaction

4) Respect of time.


The show will be headlined by MRSOE! Atlanta 2010 comedian Gilbert Lawand who most recently opened for Dave Chappelle at the North Charleston Performing Arts Center last December. At the end of the night a winner will be chosen and announced on stage. The winner will receive the last spot on the upcoming MRSOE! @ The Charleston Music Hall on June 21, 2014! The June show will feature some of the best multicultural stand-up comedians in North America, so come out and help us decide who gets the last spot!  


Comedians performing:

1) Shayl Patel (Atlanta, GA)

2) Jason Farr (Greenville, SC)

3) Mike Brocki (Charleston, SC)

4) Shivani Nadarajah (Greenville, SC)

5) Joe Charleston (Columbia, SC)

6) Ronndell Smith (Atlanta, GA)


Guest Headliner: Gilbert Lawand - 


In 2006, Gilbert Lawand left a career in corporate finance to pursue his passion of standup comedy. 2014 has already been a fantastic year as he has had the amazing opportunities to open up for Rory Scovel during his comedy special taping as well multiple theatre shows for Dave Chappelle and Aziz Ansari.

Tickets are only $5!  For more information, visit